Home » Uncategorized » Dependent for Life

Dependent for Life

dependenceOh Lord! I am but a suckling at your breast, drawing desperately from You to fill my need. My dependence, my trust is in You alone. Who, but You, can satisfy the deepest longing of my heart?

Oh Lord! I am but an unsure child at your knees. To go away from you or stay close, I cannot tell. I long to explore–my soul demands it! But who, apart from You, can satisfy the deepest longing of my heart?

Oh Lord, I am but a young woman, defiant in your face. I so often choose what the world offers to rescue me. I depend on and I long for what I can see, feel and taste. Not believing that You, only You, can satisfy the deepest longing of my heart.

Oh Lord! I am but full grown, trying to stand at your side. My own children are learning to trust You for themselves. Please let them see through these mistakes that I’ve made, that You, only You, can satisfy the deepest longing of their hearts.

Oh Lord! I am but an old woman, kneeling at your cross. Touched by the life-long bestowal of your costly grace. You have been present, You’re the very air that I breathe. You, only You, have satisfied the deepest longing of my heart.

I am ready to come home.

7 thoughts on “Dependent for Life

  1. This gave me chills! I still find myself at the young-person stage, trying to mature in my faith. It’s a process, though, and we can achieve it by not giving up. Thank you for such lovely prose!

    • I had fun writing this one. I have certainly experienced the conflict in each of these stages of development. I find myself moving 3 steps forward and 2 steps back, though. Sometimes longing for the pure milk, sometimes being defiant. I can only hope that when I am ready to leave this world and this body, that I will have resolved most of the issues because I will have realized that they all pale in comparison to eternity with Christ. Thanks again for your honesty. I love reading your comments!

      • Thanks! I think most people find themselves backsliding ever so often. I know I do. My marketing professor in college told me that it doesn’t matter where we’ve been, but where we end up.

Leave a Reply

