Home » Uncategorized » Welcome! We are on the same journey…let’s walk awhile.

Welcome! We are on the same journey…let’s walk awhile.

Why is it that the most difficult part of starting anything, is actually starting it? There, I’ve done it. I’ve started my blog. I’ve taken the first steps of this new journey. I’m so glad you’ve decided to join me. This is your journey too. So, what shall we talk about? The name and meaning of the blog? Okay. Let’s talk about food. Now there’s a favorite subject of mine, because one of the most pleasurable aspects of any journey is the food you get to eat. If you are a seasoned traveler, you know there is a wide variety of culinary delights to be had from one country to another. But that type of food is not the food that will be the focus of this blog. The type of food I envision devouring here is MIND food. Thoughts, ideas, philosophies and teachings from the Scriptures–these are the types of food I hope to serve and these are the types of food I hope to receive for my own soul’s nourishment.

By now you are thinking that you either wish to drop out of the journey, or maybe continue on awhile to see how it goes before deciding whether to continue on or not. Thinking takes too much energy, you may feel short on any new ideas and philosophy was a class you took in high school and a book called, “On Walden Pond” that you had to read whether or not you wanted to. As far as the Bible goes, it is out-of-date, too difficult to understand and just plain turns you off.

If that’s how you feel, that’s okay. This journey is for risk-takers and people who don’t fear the scary thrill of vulnerability. To live is to be vulnerable. It’s impossible to hide and still expect to find love and laughter on this journey we call “life.” But sometimes we try to hide because being vulnerable exposes us to others and with that exposure comes the possibility of rejection. When I am feeling vulnerable and want to run away from any kind of loving connection, I think of a quote by C.S. Lewis in his book, “The Four Loves.” He states: “Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket–safe, dark, motionless, airless– it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.”

5 thoughts on “Welcome! We are on the same journey…let’s walk awhile.

    • I don’t personally believe the Bible is out-of-date or too difficult to understand, but I do believe there are a lot of people who do. My goal, as the opportunities arise, is to challenge that thinking. Thanks for your comment!

    • I was very hesitant to start blogging. While I don’t consider myself a private person, I don’t just let it all hang out either. Guess that’s the difference between being an introvert and an extrovert. I want to bless other people while at the same time challenging my own mind. But I have to be careful because I could tip the scales towards spending too much time blogging and not enough of “everything else.” That is why I have purposely stayed clear of Facebook, though I do have a presence that I visit maybe once a year. HaHa. Thanks for your kind thoughts.

Leave a Reply

